The 2018 Canadian consensus guidelines on primary care for adults with Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities outline standards of care to support clinical decision making. These guidelines are developed by family physicians, nurses, psychiatrists and other experts who are experienced in the care of people with IDD.

More results...

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
Filter by Categories

How to Use and Understand the Guidelines

Icons used in these guidelines

Recommendations with are strongly recommended; the symbol indicates clinicians’ top recommendations; or indicates that reviewed publications pertain to the guideline background; blue indicates a subtype that increases the strength of the recommendation.

Types of Knowledge

The guideline recommendations are based on four different types of knowledge: empirical knowledge; knowledge about the health care ecosystem; clinical expert knowledge; and experiential knowledge. The subtypes of knowledge are related to the strength of recommendation.

Learn more about types and subtypes of knowledge

Strength of Recommendation

These guidelines outline standards of care for which there is a good basis in current knowledge. Other factors, however, were considered for deciding whether a proposed action is “strongly recommended” or “recommended”, including availability and use of resources.

Learn more about strengths of recommendations

Reflect on these guidelines and earn Mainpro+ credits!

Learn how to earn Mainpro+ credits

The Developmental Disabilities Primary Care Program is supported and funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, Ontario Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services and Surrey Place, Toronto.